Day 105 – The Results of our Area Contest!

Almost two weeks ago, I gave them this building and we had a contest to see who could estimate the area of the glass closest. They have been asking me about it almost every day since, so I was happy to know they were thinking about it. I was waiting until we had the skills to be able to solve the problem on our own – today, we were finally there! We calculated the area using a parabola I fitted with GeoGebra… Most groups were over a thousand square meters off, but a few groups were within 20, which was kind of cool! Unfortunately, the groups that won were not the groups with the best method of estimating, but hey, that's okay!

 

3 responses to “Day 105 – The Results of our Area Contest!

  1. I put my y-axis in the middle of the building. Is there a reason you didn’t do that?

  2. Obvious once you say it. I’ll let you know how it goes in my class.

Leave a Reply

